Projects
Sorted by trees to be felled, then forest land, then capacity. Every figure has an ⓘ with its source document and page.
| Project | Trees | Forest (ha) | Capacity (MW) | Status | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shirawta PSP | 64,729Documented“0.7 (Very Dense Forest) of Eco Class I and 64729 number of trees are”FAC (Advisory Committee) minutes, 8 May 2026, MoM ID FC/MOM/AC/969417/2026: '64729 number of trees are proposed to be felled', page92 · 8 May 2026 | 160.8Documented“for diversion of 160.783 ha. forest land for construction of Shirawta Off Stream”FAC (Advisory Committee) minutes, 8 May 2026, MoM ID FC/MOM/AC/969417/2026 (Shirawta Stage-I recommended), page92 · 8 May 2026 | 1,800Documented“c) CEA/CWC accorded concurrence to Shirawta PSP (1800 MW) vide Office”Shirawta EC letter, 15 Jun 2026 (MoEFCC), page15 · 15 June 2026 | Environmental clearance granted | Pune |
| Saidongar-1 PSP, Karjat | 48,557Documented“Also, the proposal involves felling of 48557 number of trees.”FAC (Advisory Committee) minutes, 2 Dec 2025, MoM ID FC/MOM/AC/473103/2025: 'the proposal involves felling of 48557 number of trees', page177 · 2 December 2025 ≠ | 233Documented“for diversion of 233 ha. forest land for construction of Saidongar-I Karjat Off-”FAC (Advisory Committee) minutes, 8 May 2026, MoM ID FC/MOM/AC/969417/2026 (Saidongar-1 change of CA land), page97 · 8 May 2026 | 3,000Documented“SAIDONGAR 1 – KARJAT 3000 MW PSP”Saidongar-1 draft EIA executive summary (MPCB), page1 · August 2025 | Forest clearance granted | Raigad |
| Malshej Ghat Bhorande PSP | 35,000Documented“approx. 150 trees/la. A total of around 35000 trees and saplings are likely to be sacrificed.”EAC 32nd meeting minutes, 29 May 2025: sub-committee site-visit report, 'around 35000 trees and saplings' on 60.49 ha, page100 · 29 May 2025 | 60.9Documented“out as 166.0646 ha. Out of which, 105.1879 ha is private land and 60.8767 ha is forest land.”Malshej Ghat Bhorande PSP draft EIA executive summary (MPCB), May 2026, page18 · May 2026 | 1,500Documented“The proposed 1500 MW Malshej Ghat Bhorande Pumped Storage Project envisages”Malshej Ghat Bhorande PSP draft EIA executive summary (MPCB), May 2026, page3 · May 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Pune, Thane |
| Saidongar-2 PSP, Maval | 9,554Documented“to the reservoir. This project will require 35.60 ha Forest land and cutting of about 9,554”Saidongar-2 draft EIA executive summary (MPCB): 'cutting of about 9,554 trees', page12 · March 2026 | 35.6Documented“acquisition of 141.44 ha in which 35.60 ha is forest area and remaining 105.84 ha is”Saidongar-2 Maval draft EIA executive summary (MPCB), page10 · March 2026 | 1,200Documented“Notification and amendments thereof, the proposed Saidongar 2 - Maval PSP (1200 MW)”Saidongar-2 Maval draft EIA executive summary (MPCB), page1 · March 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Pune, Raigad |
| Bhivpuri PSP | 6,834Documented“iii. Density of vegetation has been given as 0.6 Eco Class-III with 6834”FAC (Advisory Committee) minutes, 5 Mar 2025, MoM ID FC/MOM/AC/354946/2025: 'Density of vegetation has been given as 0.6 Eco Class-III with 6834 project affected trees', page59 · 5 March 2025 | 20.1Documented“hence EC-stage 20.15 ha forest / 97.26 ha private is revised to 20.14 ha / 97.27 ha.”EAC 63rd meeting minutes, 25 Sep 2026 (Bhivpuri EC amendment, item 63.6), page300 · 25 September 2026 | 1,000Documented“with the Govt. of Maharashtra on 09th August 2023 for development of 1000 MW Bhivpuri”Bhivpuri EC (May 2025), page16 · May 2025 | Under construction | Raigad, Pune |
| Kamod PSP | not disclosed | 302.3Documented“estimated at 395.23 Ha, out of which 302.29 Ha is forest and about 92.94 Ha is non-forest land.”EAC 26th meeting minutes, 12 Mar 2025 (Kamod ToR, item 26.1), page89 · 12 March 2025 | 2,000Reported“20 Kamod Close Loop PSP (2000 Mw) (458.23 Ha) MEIL Nandurbar/ Maharashtra Tapi 29 Jan. 2025 For ToR Withdrawn as project parameters changed”SANDRP: 2025 env & forest clearance decisions · 20 January 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Nandurbar, Dhule |
| Nayagaon PSP (Soygaon) | not disclosed | 297.4Documented“– Forest Clearance - Online application seeking for est diversion for around 297.38 Ha submitted in”EAC 54th meeting minutes, 8 May 2026 (item 54.3), page72 · 8 May 2026 | 2,000Documented“for seeking a fresh TOR for the Nayagaon Pumped Storage Project (2000 MW) has been”EAC 54th meeting minutes, 8 May 2026 (item 54.3), page73 · 8 May 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar |
| Bhavali PSP | not disclosed | 243.7Documented“The project area is 274.82 ha. and forest land required to be diverted is 243.74 ha of which 181.45 ha in”EAC 32nd meeting minutes, 29 May 2025, page85 · 29 May 2025 | 1,500Reported“…rial region. This , even as share of renewable energy goes up will help ensure grid stability and power at all times. --> The 1500MW /11017 MWh Bhavali Pumped Storage facility at Igatpuri in Maharashtra is now back on the anvil with the Expert Appraisal Commit…”Bhavali PSP approval for EIA study | Forest clearance deferred | Nashik, Thane |
| JSW Bhor–Mahad PSP (5,400 MW) | not disclosed | 241.2Documented“Clearance (FC) for the 241.22 ha of forest land involved in the project within the”EAC 63rd meeting minutes, 25 Sep 2026 (JSW 5,400 MW ToR, item 63.3), page233 · 25 September 2026 | 5,400Documented“(i) Project Name : 5400 MW Pumped Storage Project at Taluka: Bhor & Mahad, Dis”EAC 63rd meeting minutes, 25 Sep 2026 (JSW 5,400 MW ToR, item 63.3), page2 · 25 September 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Pune, Raigad |
| PEN Off-Stream PSP | not disclosed | 206Documented“Forest Land : 206.00 ha”EAC 59th meeting minutes, 30 Jul 2026 (PEN ToR, item 59.5), page132 · 30 July 2026 | 1,400Documented“Plan (EMP) studies, including conduct of Public Hearing, for the 1400 MW PEN Off-”EAC 59th meeting minutes, 30 Jul 2026 (PEN ToR, item 59.5), page303 · 30 July 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Raigad |
| Adnadi PSP (Chikhaldara) | not disclosed | 163.8Documented“iv. Land requirement: Forest Land : 163.77 ha”EAC 42nd meeting minutes, 31 Oct 2025 (Adnadi ToR, item 42.1), page90 · 31 October 2025 | 1,500Reported“…mbhajinagar, with ₹9,600 crore invested to produce 2,000 MW while creating 6,000 jobs. Adani Hydro Energy Ten Ltd will set up a 1,500 MW plant at Chikhaldara, Amravati, involving ₹8,250 crore investment and 4,800 job opportunities. Rithwik Kolhapur PSP Pvt Ltd…”₹31,955 cr PSP MoUs, Jul 2025 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Amravati |
| Kalu PSP | not disclosed | 137.6Documented“i. The application for obtaining Stage I FC for 137.631 ha. of forest land involved in the”EAC 63rd meeting minutes, 25 Sep 2026 (Kalu ToR, item 63.2), page218 · 25 September 2026 | 1,800Documented“Kalu Pump Storage Project (1800 MW), involving an area of 377.593 ha in Pune and Thane Districts of”EAC 63rd meeting minutes, 25 Sep 2026 (Kalu ToR, item 63.2), page47 · 25 September 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Pune, Thane |
| Pawana Falyan PSP | not disclosed | 129Documented“Stage I FC for 129 Ha of forest land involved in the project shall be submitted.”EAC 15th meeting minutes, 13 Sep 2024 (Pawana Falyan ToR, item 15.1), page10 · 13 September 2024 | 2,400Reported“…two major pumped storage hydro projects (PSHPs) with a total capacity of 3,650 MW. The agreement includes the development of the 2,400 MW Pawana Falyan pumped storage project (PSP) and the 1,200 MW Sirsala PSP. The cumulative investment for these projects is rep…”Renewable Watch: Avaada MoU for 3.65 GW · 30 April 2025 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Pune, Raigad |
| Aruna Kolamb PSP | not disclosed | 128.9Reported“…nnual output of 2,556.37 million units. It is estimated to cost Rs 7,394.46 crore and requires 383.09 hectares of land, including 128.86 hectares of forest land. The project area falls within the Western Ghats Ecologically Sensitive Area. The EAC has called for a si…”Power Peak Digest: EAC backs ToR for 3,810 MW across six states (51st meeting) · 16 April 2026 | 1,200Reported“…ved the public hearing requirement. Aruna Kolamb PSP, Maharashtra – 1,200 MW In Maharashtra, ToR has been recommended for the 1,200 MW Aruna Kolamb Open Loop Pumped Storage Project by THDC India Limited. The project spans Kolhapur and Ratnagiri districts and wi…”Power Peak Digest: EAC backs ToR for 3,810 MW across six states (51st meeting) · 16 April 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Kolhapur, Ratnagiri |
| Amba PSP | not disclosed | 112.6Documented“159.65 ha Non-Forest Land (A) 112.56 ha”EAC 53rd meeting minutes, 29–30 Apr 2026 (Amba ToR, item 53.3), page182 · 30 April 2026 | 1,500Reported“The proposals include pumped storage projects by NTPC Limited, Greenko BR01 IREP Private Limited, and THDC India Limited, along with the Niare Hydroelectric Project in Arunachal Pradesh. 1,500 MW Amba Pumped Storage Project, Maharashtra”Power Peak Digest: EAC 53rd meeting, ToR for Amba and Aruna · 8 May 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Pune, Raigad |
| Pimpalpada–Savale PSP | not disclosed | 99.4Documented“be around 249.23 ha, involving 99.36 ha of forest land and 149.87 ha of non-forest land.”EAC 57th meeting minutes, 29 Jun 2026 (Pimpalpada Savale ToR, item 57.6), page500 · 29 June 2026 | 2,100Reported“…The Government of Maharashtra has signed an MoU with Chambery Power, a group company of EDF Power Solutions India, to develop the 2,100 MW Pimpalpada–Savale pumped storage project in Pune District and Raigad District, with an estimated investment of INR 10,217 cror…”Maharashtra signs ₹10,217 cr MoU with Chambery Power · 5 March 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Pune, Raigad |
| Warasgaon–Warangi PSP | not disclosed | 90Documented“Warangi PSP is estimated to be around 226.16 ha, out of which 136.16ha is non-forest land and 90.00ha”EAC 21st meeting minutes, 31 Dec 2024 (Warasgaon Warangi, item 21.2), page31 · 31 December 2024 | 1,500Reported“Subject: Submission against 1500 MW Warasgaon Warangi Pumped Storage Project by Adani Green Energy to be discussed in the 19th EAC meeting for TORs”SANDRP letter to EAC · 29 November 2024 | Rejected, resubmitted | Pune, Raigad |
| THDC Malshej Ghat PSP | not disclosed | 74.1Documented“236.55 ha is non-forest land and 74.06 ha is forest land. Diversion of forest land for non-”EAC 43rd meeting minutes, 12 Nov 2025 (Malshej Ghat ToR, item 43.1), page57 · 12 November 2025 | 1,200Reported“…The Union environment ministry’s expert panel has given a preliminary approval for Tehri Hydro Development Corporation's (THDC) 1,200 MW pumped hydropower project near Malshej Ghat, covering parts of Thane and Pune districts in Maharashtra, Indian Express reporte…”Swarajya: THDC's 1,200 MW Malshej Ghat PSP gets preliminary nod · 23 November 2025 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Thane, Pune |
| Aruna PSP | not disclosed | 73.6Documented“approximately 334.45 ha, of which about 73.60 ha falls within forest land, while the”EAC 53rd meeting minutes, 29–30 Apr 2026 (Aruna ToR, item 53.5), page100 · 30 April 2026 | 1,500Reported“…at the draft stage, the developer has also been directed to obtain prior clearance from the National Board for Wildlife (NBWL). 1,500 MW Aruna Pumped Storage Project, Maharashtra THDC India Limited secured ToR recommendation for the 1,500 MW Aruna Open Loop Pum…”Power Peak Digest: EAC 53rd meeting, ToR for Amba and Aruna · 8 May 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Kolhapur, Sindhudurg |
| Pane PSP | not disclosed | 66.9Documented“Pane, Khanu and Vagheri. Out of total project area, 8.74 ha is Govt land, 66.91 ha is forest”EAC 45th meeting minutes, 19 Dec 2025 (Pane EC, item 45.3), page166 · 19 December 2025 | 1,500Documented“Proposed Pane Pumped Storage Project with the capacity of 1500 MW at Villages: Pane and Vagheri, Tal”EAC 45th meeting minutes, 19 Dec 2025 (Pane EC, item 45.3), page73 · 19 December 2025 | Environment clearance recommended | Raigad, Pune |
| Ghosla PSP | not disclosed | 65.4Documented“317.68 ha is non-forest land and 65.35 ha is forest land. Diversion of forest land for”EAC 57th meeting minutes, 29 Jun 2026 (Ghosla ToR amendment, item 57.7), page516 · 29 June 2026 | 2,000Reported“21 Ghosla Close Loop PSP (2000 Mw) (350 Ha) MEIL Jalgaon & Aurangabad/ Maharashtra Sileru/ Godavari 29 Jan. 2025 For ToR Approved”SANDRP: 2025 env & forest clearance decisions · 20 January 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Jalgaon, Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar |
| Savitri PSP | not disclosed | 55.6Documented“works for project is 310.76 ha out of which Forest area is 55.64 ha, Government land is”EAC 48th meeting minutes, 12 Feb 2026 (Savitri ToR, item 48.3), page63 · 12 February 2026 | 2,400Reported“NHPC’s 2,400 MW Savitri pumped storage project gets ToR clearance | Power Peak Digest”Power Peak Digest: NHPC's 2,400 MW Savitri PSP gets ToR · 11 March 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Raigad, Satara |
| Kolhapur PSP (Chandgad) | not disclosed | 55.1Documented“The forest land area required in Alternative – 1 (i.e., 55.09 Ha) is less than Alternative –”EAC 44th meeting minutes, 27 Mar 2023 (Kolhapur closed-loop PSP ToR, item 44.12), page165 · 27 March 2023 | 1,200Reported“The government signed an MoU with Rithwik Kolhapur PSP Pvt Ltd to set up a project at Chandgad in Kolhapur district. It is projected to produce 1,200 MW energy, while the investment would be Rs 7,405 crore. It will provide 2,600 jobs.”The Week (PTI): Maharashtra signs MoUs for 4 PSPs worth ₹31,955 cr · 15 July 2025 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Kolhapur |
| Humbarli Birmani PSP | not disclosed | 49.5Documented“ix. Land requirement: Total land requirement of the project is 334.82 ha (Forest: 49.50”EAC 52nd meeting minutes, 13 Apr 2026 (item 52.2), page43 · 13 April 2026 | 1,500Documented“construction of the project Humbarli Birmani Off Stream(1500MW) in Village: Hatlot, Taluka:”EAC 58th meeting minutes, 15 Jul 2026 (Humbarli Birmani ToR, item 58.5), page311 · 15 July 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Satara, Ratnagiri |
| Tilari PSP | not disclosed | 30.2Documented“Forest Land 30.241 Ha”EAC 59th meeting minutes, 30 Jul 2026 (Tilari ToR, item 59.1), page16 · 30 July 2026 | 240Reported“The projects include the 240 MW Tilari Pumped Storage Project and 1,400 MW PEN Pumped Storage Project in Maharashtra, and the 1,000 MW Kalu Patti Closed Loop Pumped Storage Project in Uttar Pradesh.”Power Peak Digest: EAC recommends ToR for Tilari, PEN and Kalu Patti · 18 August 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Kolhapur |
| Ranavadi PSP | not disclosed | 29.9Documented“v. Land requirement: Forest Land : 29.87 ha”EAC 58th meeting minutes, 15 Jul 2026 (Ranavadi ToR, item 58.2), page81 · 15 July 2026 | 1,200Documented“on 13.04.2026 to develop the 1200 MW Ranavadi Standalone Pumped Storage”EAC 58th meeting minutes, 15 Jul 2026 (Ranavadi ToR, item 58.2), page256 · 15 July 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Pune, Raigad |
| Patgaon PSP | not disclosed | 28.3Reported“It is unclear if this meant that the company had also discarded the plan to build a new reservoir, powerhouse and other supporting infrastructure for the Patgaon project after acquiring 70 acres of forest land near the village of Anjiwade in Sindhudurg district.”70 acres = 28.33 ha. No official forest-diversion figure found.Article 14: How Modi govt gave early permissions for Adani energy projects in India's oldest forests · 7 February 2024 | 2,100Reported“…rate electricity. In late 2022, during internal deliberations on one of the three proposed Adani units in the Western Ghats, the 2100 MW Patgaon pump storage project in Kolhapur district—after which the other two at Tarali and Warasgaon, spread across Satara and…”Article 14: How Modi govt gave early permissions for Adani energy projects in India's oldest forests · 7 February 2024 | Study terms lapsed (ToR) | Sindhudurg, Kolhapur |
| Kumbhe PSP | not disclosed | 9.6Documented“which 141.46 ha is non-forest land and 9.60 ha is forest land. Diversion of forest land for non-”EAC 39th meeting minutes, 12 Sep 2025 (Kumbhe ToR, item 39.3), page128 · 12 September 2025 | 1,100Documented“abandoned. The upper reservoir is going to be utilized for the Kumbhe PSP (1100 MW).”EAC 39th meeting minutes, 12 Sep 2025 (Kumbhe ToR, item 39.3), page32 · 12 September 2025 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Raigad |
| Ghatghar PSP Stage II | not disclosed | 7Documented“around 9.78 hectares, out of which 7.04 hectares are anticipated to be forest land, while”EAC 52nd meeting minutes, 13 Apr 2026 (item 52.1), page40 · 13 April 2026 | 125Documented“dated 10.06.1985 to the existing project Ghatghar 2x125MW PSP. The committee”EAC 52nd meeting minutes, 13 Apr 2026 (item 52.1), page4 · 13 April 2026 | Study terms deferred (ToR) | Thane, Ahmednagar |
| Ambegaon PSP | not disclosed | 3.6Documented“Forest Land : 3.59 ha”EAC 32nd meeting minutes, 29 May 2025 (Ambegaon ToR, item 32.5), page248 · 29 May 2025 | 600Reported“26 Ambegaon Open Loop PSP (600 Mw) in 69.41 Ha Renew Hydro Power Pvt Ltd Pune/ Maharashtra Ghoda/ Bhima/ Krishna 29 May 2025 For ToR Approved”SANDRP: 2025 decisions | Study terms approved (ToR) | Pune |
| Koyna–Nivakane PSP | not disclosed | 0Documented“Forest Land 0.00 ha”EAC 58th meeting minutes, 15 Jul 2026 (Nivakane EC, item 58.1), page238 · 15 July 2026 | 2,700Reported“…of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC) has recommended Environmental Clearance (EC) for Adani Green Energy Limited's 2,700 MW Nivakane (Integrated) Pumped Storage Project in Satara district, Maharashtra. The Rs 14,952 crore project, proposed near Mar…”Power Peak Digest: EAC clears Adani's Nivakane PSP near tiger reserve buffer · 5 August 2026 | Environment clearance recommended | Satara |
| Tarali PSP | not disclosed | 0Documented“Forest Land : 0 ha”Tarali EC, page13 | 1,500Documented“xii No. of Affected Families As the Tarali PSP (1500 MW) will come into”Tarali EC, page21 | Environmental clearance granted | Satara |
| Lanja PSP | not disclosed | — | 1,750Reported“The fourth MoU was signed with Waterfront Construction Pvt Ltd at Lanja in Ratnagiri. It will generate 1,750 MW of power with an investment of Rs 6,700 crore and provide for 1600 jobs.”The Week (PTI): Maharashtra signs MoUs for 4 PSPs worth ₹31,955 cr · 15 July 2025 | MoU signed, no clearance yet | Ratnagiri |
| Junnar PSP | not disclosed | — | 1,500Reported“…ould be executed at three sites identified by Torrent namely Karjat (3,000 MW) in Raigarh District, Maval, (1,200 MW) and Junnar (1,500 MW) in Pune district. All the sites are off-stream and the projects are planned to provide a minimum of six hours of energy stora…”Power Line: Torrent signs MoU for three PSPs · 7 June 2023 | MoU signed, no clearance yet | Pune |
| Panchmauli–Devalipada PSP | not disclosed | — | 1,500Reported“…-Devalipada pumped storage hydroelectric project in the Dhule and Nandurbar districts. The project has an installed capacity of 1,500 MW. Additionally, it will need approximately 19.29 TMC of water for initial storage and 3.24 TMC each year for replenishment. Fur…”Renewable Watch: GSC PSP Maha MoU for 1.5 GW · 6 November 2025 | MoU signed, no clearance yet | Dhule, Nandurbar |
| Kalamb Thakurwadi PSP | not disclosed | — | 1,000Documented“Kalamb Thakurwadi Pumped Storage Project (1000 MW) by RENEW SOLAR POWER PRIVATE LIMITED”EAC 6th meeting minutes, 23 Jan 2024 (Kalamb Thakurwadi, item 6.3), page7 · 23 January 2024 | Applied for study terms (ToR) | Pune |
| Mhaismal PSP | not disclosed | — | 800ReportedNumber not stated as written in the sourceAnnexure 1 is an image (social media screenshot); transcribed in docs/PHASE1_SOURCES_LOG.md §4.Annexure 1, 'Pumped storage projects in Maharashtra' (Marathi; source document not yet traced, via social media screenshot) · 27 October 2026 | Study terms approved (ToR) | Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar |
| Ghatgar PSP (existing) | — | — | 250Documented“dated 10.06.1985 to the existing project Ghatghar 2x125MW PSP. The committee”2 × 125 MW = 250 MW.EAC 52nd meeting minutes, 13 Apr 2026 (Ghatghar Stage II, item 52.1), page4 · 13 April 2026 | Operating | Thane, Ahmednagar |
| Bhira PSP (existing) | — | — | 150Reported“1927 1 2 150 MW 3”Global Energy Monitor: Bhira pumped storage plant (coordinates) | Operating | Raigad |
Nothing matches these filters.
Map
Operating (2)Cleared or being built (6)MoU or ToR stage (22)Deferred, lapsed or rejected (4)
OperatingCleared or being builtMoU or ToR stageDeferred, lapsed or rejected