Corrections

Every number on this site comes from a document I can point to:

Spotted a mistake, or have a document I should see? Write to daredavil239804@gmail.com with the page, the claim and, if you can, a source. I reply within 7 days and note every fix on the page.

Email a correction

Share this page

Please check the linked source before you forward a figure.

← All projects

Amba PSP

Study terms approved (ToR) (as of 22 May 2026) · NTPC · Inside draft ESA

1,500MW

Not disclosedtrees to be felled

112.56ha of forest land

2villages named

  1. MoU signed
  2. Study terms (ToR)
  3. Forest clearance
  4. Construction
  5. Operating
Forest (ha) 112.56 Documented“159.65 ha Non-Forest Land (A) 112.56 ha”EAC 53rd meeting minutes, 29–30 Apr 2026 (Amba ToR, item 53.3), page182 · 30 April 2026
Total land (ha) 272.21 Documented“Pumped Storage Project (1500 MW) in an area of 272.21 Ha located at Sub District Mawal and”EAC 53rd meeting minutes, 29–30 Apr 2026 (Amba ToR, item 53.3), page29 · 30 April 2026
Capacity (MW) 1,500 Reported“The proposals include pumped storage projects by NTPC Limited, Greenko BR01 IREP Private Limited, and THDC India Limited, along with the Niare Hydroelectric Project in Arunachal Pradesh. 1,500 MW Amba Pumped Storage Project, Maharashtra”Power Peak Digest: EAC 53rd meeting, ToR for Amba and Aruna · 8 May 2026
Storage (GWh) 8.93 (estimate) ReportedDerived on this siteStorage implied by us from capacity × rated hours or annual generation; see the project note.Power Peak Digest: EAC 53rd meeting, ToR for Amba and Aruna · 8 May 2026
Cost (₹ crore) 7,294.88 Documented“x. Project Cost: The estimated project cost is 7294.88 Crores at Feb 2026 price level. The”EAC 53rd meeting minutes, 29–30 Apr 2026 (Amba ToR, item 53.3), page30 · 30 April 2026
Location18.7031°N, 73.4084°E (exact)Documented“v. The geographical co-ordinate of the project are 18°42'11"N, 73°24'30.22"E (Left Bank) &”EAC 53rd meeting minutes, 29–30 Apr 2026 (Amba ToR, item 53.3), page29 · 30 April 2026
DistrictPune, Raigad, Mawal, Sudhagad
VillagesGevhande Apati, Bheliv
MoU signed3 September 2024

Sources disagree

Capacity (MW)

800 MW was the 3 Sep 2024 MoU figure; the 29 Apr 2026 addendum and the ToR are for 1,500 MW.

Notes

  • Expert Appraisal Committee (EAC) The central committee of experts that recommends ToR and EC for river valley and hydro projects, including PSPs. More in glossary → recommended Terms of Reference (ToR) The list of studies an EIA must cover, set by the expert committee. Getting a ToR is the first clearance step, not a permission to build. More in glossary → at its 53rd meeting (29–30 Apr 2026) for 1,500 MW on 272.21 ha.
  • All project components are in the proposed Western Ghats Ecologically Sensitive Area (ESA) About 56,825 sq km of the Western Ghats proposed for protection since 2014; still only a draft, reissued six times. More in glossary → (reported).
  • The EAC asked for a Cumulative impact assessment A study of the combined effect of all projects in one river basin or landscape, rather than one project at a time. More in glossary → of nearby projects and told NTPC to revise its Memorandum of understanding (MoU) A non-binding agreement between the state and a developer to study and build a project at a site, with a water allocation. More in glossary → from 800 to 1,500 MW, which the 29 Apr 2026 addendum did.
  • Forest area not reported; needs the ToR minutes.
  • Primary record (EAC 53rd minutes, item 53.3, proposal IA/MH/RIV/575297/2026): 272.21 ha = 112.56 ha forest + 159.65 ha non-forest; upper reservoir submergence 35.99 ha, all forest.
  • Peaking 5 h 57 min a day, so storage is about 8.9 MW, MWh and GWh MW is how fast power flows; MWh (or GWh = 1,000 MWh) is how much energy is stored or delivered. More in glossary → (our estimate: 1,500 MW × 5.95 h).
  • Upper dam 101 m high on a seasonal nala draining to Pawana lake; lower dam on the Sayali nala (Amba basin).
  • ToR letter 22 May 2026.
  • An EAC sub-committee visited 18–20 Jun 2026, before the monsoon, and called the site 'appropriate', citing sparse dry-deciduous vegetation and cactus; the EAC accepted the report on 15 Jul 2026.
  • The upper reservoir is about 1.5 km from the upper reservoir of Avaada's Pawana Falyan project.

Timeline

Category
  1. · Clearance Documented #

    EAC accepts dry-season EAC site visit An inspection by EAC members. Since Sep 2024 the EAC wants one for every Western Ghats PSP before EC. More in glossary → to Amba and Malshej Ghat

    Details and documents

    A sub-committee visited THDC's Malshej Ghat and NTPC's Amba sites on 18–22 Jun 2026, before the monsoon. It reported sparse vegetation and said Amba's reservoirs 'will enhance moisture content'; both reports note a seasonal biodiversity survey is still needed.

    THDC Malshej Ghat PSP · Amba PSP · EAC 58th meeting minutes, 15 Jul 2026 (item 58.6)

  2. · Clearance Reported #

    EAC recommends ToR for Amba and Aruna Pumped storage project (PSP) Two reservoirs at different heights: water is pumped up when power is cheap and released through turbines when power is needed. More in glossary →

    Details and documents

    53rd meeting (29–30 Apr). Amba (1,500 MWReported“The proposals include pumped storage projects by NTPC Limited, Greenko BR01 IREP Private Limited, and THDC India Limited, along with the Niare Hydroelectric Project in Arunachal Pradesh. 1,500 MW Amba Pumped Storage Project, Maharashtra”Power Peak Digest: EAC 53rd meeting, ToR for Amba and Aruna · 8 May 2026, 272.21 haReported“…Storage Project in Pune and Raigad districts of Maharashtra. The project will comprise six units of 250 MW each and will require 272.21 hectares of land. The scheme includes an upper reservoir linked to the Pawana River basin and a lower reservoir connected to the…”Power Peak Digest: EAC 53rd meeting, ToR for Amba and Aruna · 8 May 2026) lies wholly in the proposed Ghats ESA; Aruna's upper reservoir is reported to be inside the Gaganbawada Conservation Reserve.

    Amba PSP · Aruna PSP · Power Peak Digest: EAC 53rd meeting, ToR for Amba and Aruna

  3. · MoU signed, no clearance yet Reported #

    NTPC MoU addendum raises Amba to 1,500 MW and Kumbhe to 1,100 MW

    Details and documents

    Signed in the CM's presence; the EAC had asked NTPC to revise the Amba MoU at the same week's ToR meeting.Reported“Following detailed technical studies, feasibility assessments, and topographical evaluations, the project parameters have now been revised: Amba PSP: Increased from 800 MW to 1,500 MW”Indian Masterminds: NTPC and Maharashtra sign MoU addendum for Amba and Kumbhe · 29 April 2026Reported“Amba PSP: Increased from 800 MW to 1,500 MW Kumbhe PSP: Increased from 1,000 MW to 1,100 MW”Indian Masterminds: NTPC and Maharashtra sign MoU addendum for Amba and Kumbhe · 29 April 2026

    Amba PSP · Kumbhe PSP · Indian Masterminds: NTPC and Maharashtra sign MoU addendum for Amba and Kumbhe

  4. · MoU signed, no clearance yet Reported #

    NTPC signs MoU for Amba and Kumbhe PSPs

    Details and documents

    1,800 MWReported“Following detailed technical studies, feasibility assessments, and topographical evaluations, the project parameters have now been revised: Amba PSP: Increased from 800 MW to 1,500 MW”Indian Masterminds: NTPC and Maharashtra sign MoU addendum for Amba and Kumbhe · 29 April 2026Reported“The original MoU, signed on September 3, 2024, proposed the development of two pumped storage projects—Amba and Kumbhe—with a combined capacity of 1,800 MW.”Indian Masterminds: NTPC and Maharashtra sign MoU addendum for Amba and Kumbhe · 29 April 2026 in all: Amba 800 MW and Kumbhe 1,000 MWReported“Amba PSP: Increased from 800 MW to 1,500 MW Kumbhe PSP: Increased from 1,000 MW to 1,100 MW”Indian Masterminds: NTPC and Maharashtra sign MoU addendum for Amba and Kumbhe · 29 April 2026, both in the Pune–Raigad Ghats.

    Amba PSP · Kumbhe PSP · Indian Masterminds: NTPC and Maharashtra sign MoU addendum for Amba and Kumbhe

Sources

Confidence: verified