Corrections

Every number on this site comes from a document I can point to:

Spotted a mistake, or have a document I should see? Write to daredavil239804@gmail.com with the page, the claim and, if you can, a source. I reply within 7 days and note every fix on the page.

Email a correction

Share this page

Please check the linked source before you forward a figure.

← All projects

Ghosla PSP

Study terms approved (ToR) (as of 29 June 2026) · Megha Engineering & Infrastructures

2,000MW

Not disclosedtrees to be felled

65.35ha of forest land

  1. MoU signed
  2. Study terms (ToR)
  3. Forest clearance
  4. Construction
  5. Operating
Forest (ha) 65.35 Documented“317.68 ha is non-forest land and 65.35 ha is forest land. Diversion of forest land for”EAC 57th meeting minutes, 29 Jun 2026 (Ghosla ToR amendment, item 57.7), page516 · 29 June 2026
Total land (ha) 383.03 Documented“related works for Ghosla PSP is estimated to be around 383.03 ha, out of which 317.68”EAC 57th meeting minutes, 29 Jun 2026 (Ghosla ToR amendment, item 57.7), page224 · 29 June 2026
Capacity (MW) 2,000 Reported“21 Ghosla Close Loop PSP (2000 Mw) (350 Ha) MEIL Jalgaon & Aurangabad/ Maharashtra Sileru/ Godavari 29 Jan. 2025 For ToR Approved”SANDRP: 2025 env & forest clearance decisions · 20 January 2026
Storage (GWh) 12.9 Documented“Storage Project development, proposed with an installed Capaci ty of 2000 MW/12900”EAC 57th meeting minutes, 29 Jun 2026 (Ghosla ToR amendment, item 57.7), page516 · 29 June 2026
Location20.4740°N, 75.4210°E (exact)Documented“Upper Reservoir (Newly Lat: 20.474° Lat: 20°28' 26.40"N NA”EAC 57th meeting minutes, 29 Jun 2026 (Ghosla ToR amendment, item 57.7), page225 · 29 June 2026
DistrictJalgaon, Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar
MoU signed26 September 2024

Notes

  • Closed loop A PSP whose two reservoirs are built away from rivers; water is filled once and then recirculated. More in glossary → , Godavari basin, on 350 ha in Pachora, Sillod and Soegaon.
  • Terms of Reference (ToR) The list of studies an EIA must cover, set by the expert committee. Getting a ToR is the first clearance step, not a permission to build. More in glossary → approved 29 Jan 2025 (SANDRP).
  • MEIL applied to amend the ToR; taken up at the Expert Appraisal Committee (EAC) The central committee of experts that recommends ToR and EC for river valley and hydro projects, including PSPs. More in glossary → 57th meeting (29 Jun 2026, item 57.7), outcome not yet read.
  • Part of MEIL's 4,000 MW Memorandum of understanding (MoU) A non-binding agreement between the state and a developer to study and build a project at a site, with a water allocation. More in glossary → with Kamod.
  • EAC 57th minutes (item 57.7): ToR amendment recommended.
  • Forest land rose from 29.50 ha (ToR, Feb 2025) to 65.35 ha after DFO and CF inspections (4 Dec 2025, 21 May 2026); storage 12,000 → 12,900 MW, MWh and GWh MW is how fast power flows; MWh (or GWh = 1,000 MWh) is how much energy is stored or delivered. More in glossary → .

Timeline

Category
  1. · Clearance Documented #

    Ghosla Pumped storage project (PSP) Two reservoirs at different heights: water is pumped up when power is cheap and released through turbines when power is needed. More in glossary → forest land rises from 29.5 to 65.35 ha

    Details and documents

    After inspections by the DFO and Conservator of Forests, MEIL's Ghosla project needs 65.35 haDocumented“317.68 ha is non-forest land and 65.35 ha is forest land. Diversion of forest land for”EAC 57th meeting minutes, 29 Jun 2026 (item 57.7), page516 · 29 June 2026 of forest instead of 29.5Documented“ha is non-forest land and 317.68 ha is non-forest to: 29.5 ha is forest land. land and 65.35 ha is”EAC 57th meeting minutes, 29 Jun 2026 (item 57.7), page526 · 29 June 2026Documented“ha is non-forest land and 317.68 ha is non-forest to: 29.5 ha is forest land. land and 65.35 ha is”EAC 57th meeting minutes, 29 Jun 2026 (item 57.7), page526 · 29 June 2026 ha. The EAC recommended the ToR amendment.

    Ghosla PSP · EAC 57th meeting minutes, 29 Jun 2026 (item 57.7)

  2. · Clearance Reported #

    EAC recommends ToR for Saidongar-2 Maval and Ghosla

    Details and documents

    Same meeting as Saidongar-1 Karjat's ToR. Kamod's ToR application was withdrawn after parameters changed and approved on 12 Mar.

    Saidongar-2 PSP, Maval · Ghosla PSP · Kamod PSP · SANDRP: 2025 env & forest clearance decisions

  3. · MoU signed, no clearance yet Reported #

    SJVN (8,100 MW) and MEIL (4,000 MW) sign PSP MoUs

    Details and documents

    SJVN: Kolmondapada 800Reported“…s: the first phase will have a capacity of 100 MW, and the second phase will have 405 MW. The 8,100 MW PSP include the following: 800 MW Kolmondapada, 1,500 MW Sidgarh, 2,000 MW Chornai, 1,800 MW Baitarni, and 2,000 MW Jalvara. These MoUs will also enable SJVN to…”Power Line: SJVN signs two MoUs with Maharashtra · 1 October 2024, Sidgarh 1,500Reported“…ll have a capacity of 100 MW, and the second phase will have 405 MW. The 8,100 MW PSP include the following: 800 MW Kolmondapada, 1,500 MW Sidgarh, 2,000 MW Chornai, 1,800 MW Baitarni, and 2,000 MW Jalvara. These MoUs will also enable SJVN to conduct surveys, prepa…”Power Line: SJVN signs two MoUs with Maharashtra · 1 October 2024, Chornai 2,000, Baitarni 1,800Reported“…e second phase will have 405 MW. The 8,100 MW PSP include the following: 800 MW Kolmondapada, 1,500 MW Sidgarh, 2,000 MW Chornai, 1,800 MW Baitarni, and 2,000 MW Jalvara. These MoUs will also enable SJVN to conduct surveys, prepare detailed project reports, and est…”Power Line: SJVN signs two MoUs with Maharashtra · 1 October 2024 and Jalvara 2,000 MWReported“…of 100 MW, and the second phase will have 405 MW. The 8,100 MW PSP include the following: 800 MW Kolmondapada, 1,500 MW Sidgarh, 2,000 MW Chornai, 1,800 MW Baitarni, and 2,000 MW Jalvara. These MoUs will also enable SJVN to conduct surveys, prepare detailed projec…”Power Line: SJVN signs two MoUs with Maharashtra · 1 October 2024, ~₹48,000 cr; sites not disclosed. MEIL: Kamod and Ghosla, ₹21,100 cr.Reported“…(FSPs). The first MoU was signed with the Department of Water Resources for the development of five PSP with a total capacity of 8,100 MW. The second MoU is with Maharashtra State Power Generation Company Limited for a 505 MW FSP at Lower Wardha Dam, which will be…”Power Line: SJVN signs two MoUs with Maharashtra · 1 October 2024ReportedSource could not be fetched for checkingWater Power Magazine: MEIL signs MoU to develop 4,000 MW of PSPs · 1 October 2024

    Kamod PSP · Ghosla PSP · Power Line: SJVN signs two MoUs with Maharashtra · Water Power Magazine: MEIL MoU for 4,000 MW (Kamod, Ghosla)

Sources

Confidence: verified