Corrections

Every number on this site comes from a document I can point to:

Spotted a mistake, or have a document I should see? Write to daredavil239804@gmail.com with the page, the claim and, if you can, a source. I reply within 7 days and note every fix on the page.

Email a correction

Share this page

Please check the linked source before you forward a figure.

← All projects

Kamod PSP

Study terms approved (ToR) (as of 12 March 2025) · Megha Engineering & Infrastructures

2,000MW

Not disclosedtrees to be felled

302.29ha of forest land

  1. MoU signed
  2. Study terms (ToR)
  3. Forest clearance
  4. Construction
  5. Operating
Forest (ha) 302.29 Documented“estimated at 395.23 Ha, out of which 302.29 Ha is forest and about 92.94 Ha is non-forest land.”EAC 26th meeting minutes, 12 Mar 2025 (Kamod ToR, item 26.1), page89 · 12 March 2025
Total land (ha) 395.23 Documented“Pumped Storage Hydro Electric Project (2000 MW) in an area of 395.23 Ha at Village Chaupale, Kamod,”EAC 26th meeting minutes, 12 Mar 2025 (Kamod ToR, item 26.1), page2 · 12 March 2025
Capacity (MW) 2,000 Reported“20 Kamod Close Loop PSP (2000 Mw) (458.23 Ha) MEIL Nandurbar/ Maharashtra Tapi 29 Jan. 2025 For ToR Withdrawn as project parameters changed”SANDRP: 2025 env & forest clearance decisions · 20 January 2026
Storage (GWh) 12 Documented“Storage Project is proposed with a rating of 2000 MW and with a storage capacity of 12000 MWh.”EAC 26th meeting minutes, 12 Mar 2025 (Kamod ToR, item 26.1), page2 · 12 March 2025
Location21.0791°N, 73.9518°E (exact)Documented“iii. The geographical location of upper dam is Latitude 21°04'44.87"N, Longitude 73°57'6.42"E and for”EAC 26th meeting minutes, 12 Mar 2025 (Kamod ToR, item 26.1), page2 · 12 March 2025
DistrictNandurbar, Dhule
MoU signed26 September 2024

Notes

  • Off-Ghats, Closed loop A PSP whose two reservoirs are built away from rivers; water is filled once and then recirculated. More in glossary → : an example of alternative siting.
  • Terms of Reference (ToR) The list of studies an EIA must cover, set by the expert committee. Getting a ToR is the first clearance step, not a permission to build. More in glossary → application withdrawn 29 Jan 2025 after parameters changed; approved 12 Mar 2025 (SANDRP).
  • Annexure 1 lists it at ToR stage in Dhule and Nandurbar.
  • Expert Appraisal Committee (EAC) The central committee of experts that recommends ToR and EC for river valley and hydro projects, including PSPs. More in glossary → 26th minutes (item 26.1): 395.23 ha = 302.29 ha forest (76%) + 92.94 ha non-forest; 12,000 MW, MWh and GWh MW is how fast power flows; MWh (or GWh = 1,000 MWh) is how much energy is stored or delivered. More in glossary → ; outside the Western Ghats Ecologically Sensitive Area (ESA) About 56,825 sq km of the Western Ghats proposed for protection since 2014; still only a draft, reissued six times. More in glossary → .

Timeline

Category
  1. · Clearance Reported #

    EAC recommends ToR for Saidongar-2 Maval and Ghosla

    Details and documents

    Same meeting as Saidongar-1 Karjat's ToR. Kamod's ToR application was withdrawn after parameters changed and approved on 12 Mar.

    Saidongar-2 PSP, Maval · Ghosla PSP · Kamod PSP · SANDRP: 2025 env & forest clearance decisions

  2. · MoU signed, no clearance yet Reported #

    SJVN (8,100 MW) and MEIL (4,000 MW) sign Pumped storage project (PSP) Two reservoirs at different heights: water is pumped up when power is cheap and released through turbines when power is needed. More in glossary → Memorandum of understanding (MoU) A non-binding agreement between the state and a developer to study and build a project at a site, with a water allocation. More in glossary →

    Details and documents

    SJVN: Kolmondapada 800Reported“…s: the first phase will have a capacity of 100 MW, and the second phase will have 405 MW. The 8,100 MW PSP include the following: 800 MW Kolmondapada, 1,500 MW Sidgarh, 2,000 MW Chornai, 1,800 MW Baitarni, and 2,000 MW Jalvara. These MoUs will also enable SJVN to…”Power Line: SJVN signs two MoUs with Maharashtra · 1 October 2024, Sidgarh 1,500Reported“…ll have a capacity of 100 MW, and the second phase will have 405 MW. The 8,100 MW PSP include the following: 800 MW Kolmondapada, 1,500 MW Sidgarh, 2,000 MW Chornai, 1,800 MW Baitarni, and 2,000 MW Jalvara. These MoUs will also enable SJVN to conduct surveys, prepa…”Power Line: SJVN signs two MoUs with Maharashtra · 1 October 2024, Chornai 2,000, Baitarni 1,800Reported“…e second phase will have 405 MW. The 8,100 MW PSP include the following: 800 MW Kolmondapada, 1,500 MW Sidgarh, 2,000 MW Chornai, 1,800 MW Baitarni, and 2,000 MW Jalvara. These MoUs will also enable SJVN to conduct surveys, prepare detailed project reports, and est…”Power Line: SJVN signs two MoUs with Maharashtra · 1 October 2024 and Jalvara 2,000 MWReported“…of 100 MW, and the second phase will have 405 MW. The 8,100 MW PSP include the following: 800 MW Kolmondapada, 1,500 MW Sidgarh, 2,000 MW Chornai, 1,800 MW Baitarni, and 2,000 MW Jalvara. These MoUs will also enable SJVN to conduct surveys, prepare detailed projec…”Power Line: SJVN signs two MoUs with Maharashtra · 1 October 2024, ~₹48,000 cr; sites not disclosed. MEIL: Kamod and Ghosla, ₹21,100 cr.Reported“…(FSPs). The first MoU was signed with the Department of Water Resources for the development of five PSP with a total capacity of 8,100 MW. The second MoU is with Maharashtra State Power Generation Company Limited for a 505 MW FSP at Lower Wardha Dam, which will be…”Power Line: SJVN signs two MoUs with Maharashtra · 1 October 2024ReportedSource could not be fetched for checkingWater Power Magazine: MEIL signs MoU to develop 4,000 MW of PSPs · 1 October 2024

    Kamod PSP · Ghosla PSP · Power Line: SJVN signs two MoUs with Maharashtra · Water Power Magazine: MEIL MoU for 4,000 MW (Kamod, Ghosla)

Sources

Confidence: verified